Every beginning has a story.
Every ending starts with a decision.

Read the Max Strong prequel novella SLEEPING DOGS  for free.

Get your free book
Latest Release

Latest Release

Max Strong #7

A secret is a promise. It can also be a prison.

Max Strong has found a place big enough to let him disappear: Texas. He’s free of the bloodshed and the ghosts that chase him. But when two locals draw him into their dilemmas, he can’t resist the action.

Alex Blackburn is the richest rancher in town and he wants Max to find his missing wife. She vanished five years ago leaving behind only a pool of blood. Everyone in town, including the police, believes that Blackburn killed her. So why is he trying so hard to find her now?

As Max starts asking questions, two things become very clear. Someone is lying and someone is hiding a terrible secret.

Not everyone wants to be found.


Learn about all the books in the best-selling Max Strong thriller series.

What readers are saying...

  • “Plot twists galore. I read this thru in one sitting. The characters were strong and the plot well developed.”

    Deb H. ★★★★★
  • “There was not a boring moment in the book.”

    Rita ★★★★★
  • “… the wide ranging story lines comes together to form an impressive thriller.”

    Robert S. ★★★★
  • “Shaking the Tree is a dynamic, page turning thriller.”

    Lauren ★★★★★
  • “.. does a great job of building suspense and characters who keep us engaged and interested. “

    Melisa ★★★★★

If you’d like to hear about crime fiction news, giveaways, what I'm reading, and new releases, please sign up for my monthly email newsletter. In return, get two free ebooks: Sleeping Dogs, a Max Strong prequel, and October Days, a short story collection.