The Max Strong Series

Shaking the Tree

Max Strong #1

Out of prison, but still on parole, Max just wants to go to work and get through each day. He doesn’t even care that the program stuck him in Essex – a nice, but nowhere small town. With his head already full of painful memories, he’d like it just fine if his past and future stayed nice and quiet. Too bad the present just got really messy.

A body in a tree. A missing briefcase. A Russian hit man. A DEA agent bent on revenge. Not to mention a sheriff with dangerous ambition and some pissed off bikers. Things are suddenly very busy in sleepy Essex county. Bodies are turning up. Secrets are coming out. Questions are being asked.

It’s not good being the new guy in a small town.

Buy the book  Also available in audio



Bottom of the World

Max Strong #2

Max is a wanted man. Again. Only this time he’s innocent. Mostly. Refusing to be the fall guy, he fled Essex, witness protection and some sticky questions about dead bodies and a missing suitcase. Now he’s a fugitive just trying to piece together a life in another small town. But, c’mon, is it ever that easy?

Mr. Smith is a man that specializes in discretely taking care of problems. Kate Sanders is a PI that’s going broke and trying to get her dead father’s voice out of her head. Mike Duffy is a reporter in danger of cracking a case too wide open. Carter is just a psycho. Danny is the idiot that crossed Carter.

They all want to find Max.

Buy the Book



Hollow City

Max Strong #3

Max Strong tried to lead a quiet life. He tried to do things the right way. He turned himself in. He tried to use the courts to get justice for his family. He went to prison. He did his time and tried to move on. It didn’t work. Things are about to change.

Carter is getting older but still rules the city of Boston with an iron fist. He’s not a man that likes loose ends or things he can’t control. Max Strong is both of those things. Carter has come after him before and Max knows he will keep coming. He will never stop. Max will find no peace unless he makes it himself. It’s time to go home and face his demons.

Some debts can only be paid one way…

Buy the Book



Trouble Will Find Me

Max Strong #4
Max has finally put some of his ghosts to bed, but that doesn’t mean he can rest easy. He’s still a fugitive on the run from his past. He’s made his way to Prince Creek, a small town on the far eastern edge of Canada, where he’s found some peace working a fishing boat.

When Topher Arnsfeld, the richest man in town, and his wife are brutally murdered in their home, it stirs up long-buried resentments and triggers a list of suspects spanning across the small community. Disturbing rumors emerge as Max is drawn deeper into the case. In the midst of it all, one thing becomes clear: Someone’s going to get revenge, no matter who’s in the way.
Max might be the right guy in the wrong place all over again.

Buy the Book


Burn the Night

Max Strong #5

His past still haunts him, but Max keeps hoping a more peaceful future. He’s moved on again, this time to Philadelphia where he has a job driving nights for a car service. He lives alone, on the fringes, preferring to lay low.

But a late-night pickup, a mysterious box and a woman in a bloody wedding dress conspire to draw him into a dangerous vendetta with a story longer than his own rap sheet. Soon Max finds himself under siege on all sides by cops looking for answers and rival gangs looking for blood. As secrets and agendas collide, the body count rises, and Max is once again forced from the shadows.

Sometimes the only way out is to burn it all down.

Buy the Book


Crooked Prayers

Max Strong #6

Thirty years ago, a gang of four thieves walked off with over two million dollars. Then the trouble started. By the end of the night, one of them was dead, one was missing, one was in jail, and one got away.

Max Strong is thinking about a more settled life when he receives a phone call he never expected from a woman he can barely remember: his mother. It’s his touchstone in a life full of lies. His parents died in a car crash. That’s what he was always told. The truth is a little more complicated.

Sometimes secrets exist for a reason.

Buy the Book


The Salt House

Max Strong #7

Max Strong has found a place big enough to let him disappear: Texas. He’s free of the bloodshed and the ghosts that chase him. But when two locals draw him into their dilemmas, he can’t resist the action.

Alex Blackburn is the richest rancher in town and he wants Max to find his missing wife. She vanished five years ago leaving behind only a pool of blood. Everyone in town, including the police, believes that Blackburn killed her. So why is he trying so hard to find her now?

As Max starts asking questions, two things become very clear. Someone is lying and someone is hiding a terrible secret.

Not everyone wants to be found.

Buy the Book


Max Strong Boxset

Save money with a value collection of books #1-3
The first three thrillers in the Max Strong series: Shaking the Tree, Bottom of the World, and Hollow City.


Buy the set


The Max Strong Prequels

Sleeping Dogs

A Max Strong Prequel Novella

This is Max at the very beginning. Before he was on the run. Before he lost everything. Before he wanted revenge. This is Max when he was just a young man growing up in Boston as Michael Sullivan. His sister is sick. His brother is a screw up. His mom drinks too much. It’s an ordinary life. Most of the time.

But not all the time. Michael Sullivan has a secret and some special skills. It’s those skills that bring him to the attention of Carter, a dangerous man in the Boston underworld with even more dangerous ambitions. Carter has a proposal for the young thief. But Michael has his own plans.

Maybe they can help each other? But at what price?

Get the ebook free



The Devil's AngelThe Devil’s Angel

A Max Strong Prequel Novella

This is Max on the precipice. In 2007, Max is still Michael Sullivan, a young man in Boston working construction. But Michael is no ordinary young man. He has a talent. He can get you anything. He can steal anything. It’s a talent that has brought him to the attention of dangerous people and pushed him deeper into a life of crime.

Growing up on the streets, he never knew another way. You did what you had to do to survive. But now he finally can see a different future. He’s married and will soon be a father. He wants a life for his family far from the dangerous and paranoid Boston underworld. But that world isn’t about to let those special skills go. Not without a fight.

One last job. One chance to escape. One desperate gamble. It’s not a sin to cheat the devil.

Buy the book



Short Story Collection

October Days

What do you see in the dark? What are your secrets? Who are your ghosts?

Ten stories linked by the growing darkness of October. And the promise of danger lurking around the next corner.

In “Wolf on the Hill” a woman becomes obsessed with a little girl outside her window. Does she need help? Or would that be a big mistake?

In “The Midnight Game” three girls take an interest in a ritual found in an old book. Salt, matches, an old door. They think it’s just harmless fun until they meet the midnight man.

Nine, ten, never sleep again.

Get the ebook free